The Wall of Respect
This image appears in The International Review of African American Art, v.15, no.1, 1998.

In 1967, visual artists associated with the Organization of Black American Culture (OBAC) created The Wall of Respect to support the grass roots movement for African American civil rights in Chicago. Sylvia Abernathy, Elliot Hunter, Wadsworth Jarrell, Barbara Jones-Hogu, Carolyn Lawrence, Norman Parish, and William Walker were among the artists who painted a section of the Southside buidling, pictured above, to commemorate African American heroes: musicians, athletes, and political leaders. Though OBAC made additions to The Wall of Respect in 1969, the mural was destroyed in 1971.

Return to Timeline